Kala

Kala is one of my favorite Feri practices. For those who don’t know, it is a purification rite done by alligning, and then pouring into a cup of water all that burdens you: negative thoughts, memories, blocks, fears. Then, through invoking the Star Goddess and calling in her power and your own breathe, you transform that cup into a healing elixer sparkling and luminous. And you drink it down. More info about Kala can be found here: http://www.feritradition.com/BlueRose/exercise_watercleansing.html).

What I love about Kala is also what is so quintisentially Feri about it. It asks the partaker to be the transformer, the empowerer, the alchemist who by their own will makes magic out of burdens. Who takes their own garbage and turns it into rich, loamy compost. Ready and fertile for new seeds, new growth. It makes me think of the lotus that grows brightly in scummy waters.

This is the relationship with the Gods that I had always been seeking. One where they act as guides, helpers, teachers. Where they stand behind us, holding space and nudging us gently further and further out into our own wisdom, knowing and selfhood. To know that my greatest medicine is that which is already within me, both the good and the bad and the dark, twisted fucked up sides of me as well as the sides of me that are powerful for their ability to transform. I love that. And, also knowing that I don’t have to let go of all of that. I am not trying to move towards a lighter state, but instead a blacker state of innocence. One of greater integration.

Working with Kala has also allowed me to better understand where and how I hold negative energy within me. Where the seat of it is, what I can know and name and what is abstract and hidden. Sometimes I do feel I can name it and pour it into the cup. Sometimes, I ask Fetch is do it, not knowing exactly what “it” is. But always, it is powerful energy work. Working with the Temple of Air this month has really enhanced my powers of expression, and this has helped my Kala practice. Having a clearer mind, I feel better able to call out what I am letting go it, how that energy is being transformed and how it feels to take it in again.

Leave a Reply

